Nomination Deadline Is Approaching—The Accelerating Science Award Program

David Knutson | PlOS Blogs | June 3, 2013

There is less than two weeks for ASAP program award nominations.  This is an opportunity to showcase significant examples of Open Access reuse and to bestow $30,000 to three winners who will be recognized at an Open Access Week kickoff event hosted by SPARC and the World Bank. The winners will be those individuals or teams that have used, applied or remixed scientific research – published through Open Accessto innovate and make a difference in science, medicine, business, technology or society as a whole. Anyone who meets the criteria is eligible — scientists, researchers, educators, social services professionals, technology leaders, entrepreneurs, policy makers, patient advocates, public health workers, librarians and students.

Here are some key aspects of the ASAP program:

  • Three top ASAP program awards of $30,000 each
  • Anyone can nominate, individuals can nominate themselves
  • Nominators are anonymous and blinded for the selection process
  • June 15, 2013 deadline
  • A simple online form located at the ASAP website:
  • Judges include: Harold Varmus, Agnes Binagwaho, Helga Notwotny, Tim O’Reilly, and Hans Rosling
  • 27 Global sponsors including major sponsors: the Wellcome Trust, PLOS and Google